1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

What do you set your Ampeg V4 on?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by two fingers, Dec 26, 2012.


  1. two fingers

    two fingers You tahkin 'uh me? Yeah, you. You tahkin 'uh me? Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Location:
    Eastern NC USA
    So I got one last week (GREAT amp BTW). But here's the thing. I have a personal hang up that I just can't work around. All the cabs that I currently own are narrower than the V4. I just can't deal with it. I tried. Being that the thing is a full 26 1/2" wide, what can I get to set the thing on that isn't a fridge (8-10)? Even a lot of 4-10 cabs I check the specs on aren't that wide. Budget is only a mild concern for me since I really like the amp. If I had decided to just play the thing at home I wouldn't have worried about it.

    So let's have it. What do you set your V4 on? Pics would be awesome but most important is what SOUNDS good. Oddly enough, the grill matching and whatnot isn't as important to me as the rig not looking like a "T" with the head hanging off the sides. Oh, and I would really like to try something with 10" speakers again since I have been in a long 15" phase and have TONS of those around. You could probably talk me into a nice 12" speakers cab as well. Help!

    You guys have been a huge help to me since I got this thing. Thank you! I am REALLY digging it. It will probably get a lot more gig time than I thought when I bought it.
     
  2. Tuned

    Tuned

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    A Traynor TC410 (or TC410 Neo) is 28" tall, put it on its side? They're a nice 4x10 too, you can dime that V4 wide open without fear.
     
  3. Edword

    Edword

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    Detroitish
    Traynor "Big B" 8x10

    [​IMG]
     
  4. gerryjazzman

    gerryjazzman Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. GreaserMatt

    GreaserMatt

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Yeah, I've used several heads that hung off the sides of my 1x15 cabs; not a big deal. I know what you mean though, it just looks funky... those V-4 heads are great btw...
     
  7. CL400Peavey

    CL400Peavey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Location:
    Grand Rapids Michigan
    a fEARful 15/6 tube would be wide enough.
     
  8. Bulltrout

    Bulltrout Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Love those Big B cabinets. You can also keep an eye open for a V4B 215 cabinet ( there's one for sale locally here) or flip tops builds V4 width cabinets.
     
  9. throbbinnut

    throbbinnut

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Location:
    georgia....georgia........geor
    [​IMG]

    The original V4B cab, or on a B25B cab.

    Chris
     
  10. jpc

    jpc

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Old World
    I kinda have the same problem. I'm using an Acoustic 406 and the V4b it's wider than the cab. But for me it doesn't matter that much. I seldom can bring my cab and have to use whatever is at the venue. Let them laugh at how funny it looks first, then drown them in the amp's great sound :D It's all about understatement.
     
  11. corinpills

    corinpills

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2000
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I'd imagine this was super helpful to the OP.
     
  12. birdman14

    birdman14

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Auburn, Maine
    You can always do what johnk_10 did, and buy an empty V4 guitar cab and put Eminence Deltalite 2512s in it. It is a 4x12, but if it's good enough for john, I would think it would be good enough to use to. This is John's picture, btw
    [​IMG]
     
  13. stiles72

    stiles72

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Albany IL
    If you are shopping for cabs, also check the height. I've seen some V4B guys lay cabs on their side so the head doesn't overhang the ends. You could always rotate the logo on the cab or throw an extra set of casters/rubber feet on the side that you will be laying down to protect the tolex.

    Another option would be to get a pair of matching cabs (1x15's, 410's, etc...) and set them side by side:
    [​IMG]
     
  14. flygirafda3

    flygirafda3

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    I do this whenever I use my Avatar, even when I don't use the V4. I like having the cab directly on the floor so it can't get rolled around. I also play rowdy basement shows so yeah.
     
  15. nouroog

    nouroog Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Location:
    Paris, France
  16. astack

    astack Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    There's a TBer with an 1x18-turned-1x15 that is a nice fit with the cab on it's side.

    I don't mind the T, or put the head on it's side.

    Edit: Wow phone app went nuts... Nevermind the 30 duplicates.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. coreyfyfe

    coreyfyfe Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    boston, ma
    I used either a B40 4x10 or a flatback 8x10 for the same reason. Didn't like the overhang on my other cabs. Even the flatback 8x10 was like 1/2" short for the V4. They're really wide heads. They would definitely fit on a B25B cab, those are about as wide as they come.
     
  18. ddbassGA

    ddbassGA

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    This ^. The V4, V4B, B25 and early SVT cabs are some of the few wide enought.

    I have a V4 on a V4 cab w/ 4-12s. I currently have 4 guitar speakers in mine for times when I just gotta pretend Plexi (only better). I'm temped to do the JohnK thing with 4 2512s, but trying to find a second V4 cab for that.

    I have 2 70's black Thiele B-15n cabs I'm loading with JBL K-140s I'm also planning to use with the V4. The head hangs over when the cabs are vertical, but close to flush when the cabs are stacked on their sides.
     
  19. two fingers

    two fingers You tahkin 'uh me? Yeah, you. You tahkin 'uh me? Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Location:
    Eastern NC USA
    Cool! Very helpful. Anyone have any experience with micing a b25 cab? There's one for sale near here. Of course, the V4 Club thread just had a discussion about running from the Amp Ext. jack into a DI and whatnot.
     
  20. anderbass

    anderbass

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix. Az.
  21. will33

    will33

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    austin,tx
    Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    Is the b25 a horn cab? If so, try placing the mic within an inch or 2 of the horn mouth. Try just inside, even, and just outside. Experiment with placement between center and edge.

    If it's a direct radiator, mic it like any other. On center is all the mids/treble and gets bassier closer to the edge.
     

Share This Page