What does "gospel bass sound" mean to you?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bongostealth, Mar 16, 2014.

1. bongostealth

bongostealth Supporting Member

For those of you who play gospel bass, in particular African-American gospel, I was just curious what some of you think a gospel bass is or how it should sound.

For me, I love a burpy, growly, warm, and midsy sound. When I think about a good sounding "Black Gospel" bass, I think: Cirrus, Warwick, Ken Smith, Warrior, Tobias, Wyn, among others (at different points I've owned all of these except for Ken Smith and Warrior -- both absolutely on my GAS list). For my particular tastes, my favorite Black Gospel basses have pickups which are typically dual-coil pickups and have bodies made out of woods which provide strong mids and lows. For me, the heavier the better. Hence, Warwick is BY FAR one of my favorites even though they don't usually come with dual-coil pickups, but they have an INCREDIBLE growl.

As for amps, I'm a newbie in that regard in that I haven't tried many amps at all. But it seems that for Black Gospel, some of the favorites out there are Eden, MarkBass, SWR, Epiphani, Aguilar, among others.

What do you all think??? :cool:
  2. Dug2

Dug2 Supporting Member

Chi-Town in the house, Im not a gospel player, but i think Sharay is awesome
  3. bongostealth

Ahh yes! I've seen this clip MANY times and never get tired of it!
  4. Dug2

Dug2 Supporting Member

right on, and for good reason. take care
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. basslayer

basslayer Supporting Member

you need something that can cut through a hammond organ, so something active, or at least hot sounding pickups.
  7. solderjunkie

solderjunkie

8. bongostealth

Ibanez, huh? Interesting...
  9. basslayer

I used an SR905 for a while and it worked for the most part. The string path is very narrow so it makes slapping a challenge. For gospel, I prefer the BTB if I am going for an Ibanez.
  10. basslayer