What gauge strings do I need?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by neren, Mar 29, 2014.

1. neren

neren

I enjoy playing melodic solo pieces and I've recently been toying with an interesting tuning. It's a short scale (30") tuned in fifths from G to E (G D A E from thickest to thinnest), starting with the G right above standard tuning low E.

For now I just took a regular 5-string set, tossed the low B, and "made it work" with the 4 high strings. It sounds cool but it's not an ideal setup (low G is a little floppy, high E is way too tight) and I doubt it's great for the neck.

I'm going to use Circle K and buy individual strings, and I was hoping someone could help me figure out which string gauges I should buy, as I'm a rookie when it comes to this sort of thing.

So, what string gauges would be ideal for tuning a 30" scale 4-string bass in fifths, G-D-A-E?

Thank you!

2. ixlramp

ixlramp

Don't you mean ADGC strings retuned to GDAE? I doubt EADG strings would get there without breaking.
    For scales other than 34", multiply the chart value by
    (your scale/chart scale)squared = (30/34)^2 = 0.779
    The tension chart most visible at the CKS store homepage is a year out of date, the one you want is linked at the bottom of the page http://circlekstrings.com/CKSIMAGES/CircleKtensionChart130105.pdf
    Retune your G string (it's an .080 or .085 right?) until it feels the right tension, use the chart to discover what that tension is, then choose gauges to give you that tension on all strings. Kalium tell me the wound .025 is not strong enough to go above C so you should choose a plain steel for E. If you're unsure post the gauges here and i will check them. I've been tuning my basses in fifths and designing fifths sets since 1996 :)

3. mmbongo

mmbongo Chicken Pot Pie. My three favorite things!! Supporting Member

4. neren

neren

Yup that's what I mean, apologies. I meant I tossed the low B and E from a 6-string set and used the A, D, G, and C.