What is a nice beginner bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Ephemophile, Dec 8, 2010.

1. Ephemophile

Ephemophile

Hello guys. I have decided to learn bass guitar. I have been playing acoustic guitar for 8 years, and electric for about 3. I have strong, flexible fingers, and I know bass will be fine.

I'm looking for something nice, but not too nice, that will be good for slapping, but that has 5 strings. I was looking at dingwall, but I think that's getting ahead of myself. If y'all could recommend some nice basses in the $500 to $1000 range that are good for slapping, I'd be much obliged to you.

Thanks for having me on your forum,

gabriel

EDIT: I forgot to mention, some music I'm into: tool, pink floyd, dispatch, insomnium, paul simon, nickel creek, robert johnson, andy mckee, eric johnson, jimi hendrix. Lots more, but that covers a wide swath of the spectrum.
  2. spaz21387

spaz21387

Slapping is harder on a 5 string due to the string spacing. Look on rondomusic.com . Sx basses get great reviews on here. I own a sx j bass and love it. The neck is alittle chunkier then a normal j bass but that doesnt bother me. Theres lots of different models on rondo and all they need is a proper set up.
  3. Ephemophile

Ephemophile

Excellent, thanks, I will check it out. I have been browsing the forum here, and learning some things. I definitely want to buy a used bass. If I can swing it, I might even get a 4 and a 5. I really need that low B though.

EDIT: hoping to get something a bit nicer than a bass for $200 retail.
  4. darkstorm

darkstorm