What Is This Dog's Name?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Charley Umbria, Feb 5, 2014.

1. Charley Umbria

Charley Umbria I'm Really a Drummer Supporting Member

Here's the story: my wife brought home this stray dog that she found near her office. The poor guy was out in the sub-freezing temperatures and clearly hasn't eaten in quite a while. He's got a dislocated hip that the vet says could have come from being hit by a car, but was more likely caused by some dirtbag kicking him.

Anyway, we've been calling him Sam, but that's obviously not the name he's used to. We've spent a couple of evenings calling out stream-of-consciousness names to see if he responds to any of them, but haven't had any luck, so far.

So, I started thinking, "Someone must have originally picked a name for this dog for a reason (unless the dog was just given some random handle like, "Windex"). If I ask enough people what they would name this dog, maybe one of them will come up with the same thing!"

So, here's my question: What would you name this dog? Please bear in mind, I'm not looking for cool name ideas (although I did tell my wife that if the dog answered to Geddy, The Ox, or Dee Murray, it could stay...), but the name that you think best fits him.

Here's the mutt in question:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

BTW, this thread is not a poorly-disguised attempt to get one of you to take the dog! However, once his hip has been repaired and he's walking again, we will be trying to find him a good home. He's a sweet and gentle dog. Still a little skittish, but unfazed by our two St. Bernards. If no one steps up, you may see Sammy in the TB Classifieds! :D

2. bassteban

bassteban

That's a Sam if I ever saw one. Or Rex

3. alembicguy

alembicguy Lone Wolf Miner Supporting Member

4. tastybasslines

tastybasslines Supporting Member

He looks very cute and mischievous, with a good personality. So I'm gonna say Rufus.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. basscooker

basscooker

Disclosures: