1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

What made YOU want to play bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by amusicalperson, Jan 15, 2014.

1. I got my first guitar when I was 3, didn't pick it up until I was 9. Played a couple of years but got frustrated with all the 'want to be' guitar players (I'm sure we all know a few! Lol) so I gave up playing guitar a while. The first moment I knew I wanted to play the bass was when I heard the opening bass line to "Sweet Child O' Mine" kinda lame? Yes. But go easy on me, I was young. I soon discovered the wonders of Paul McCartney and that gave me more of an interest, but it wasn't until I discovered John Paul Jones that I took my bass playing seriously, I started practicing for hours everyday until I could play every Led Zeppelin song. I still practice everyday (not just Zep tunes obviously! Lol) but Jonesy is definetly the reason I still pick up my bass everyday.

So what's your story?

2. AaronVonRock

AaronVonRock

Feb 22, 2013
    Bangkok
    I was mediocre at playing guitar. And where I grew up, the guitarist to bassist ratio was about 20-1.

3. TalkBass Friendly Advertisement

to hide this ad and more.
  4. Jefff

Jefff Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2013
    Chicago
    I am old.... James Jamerson, Bob Babbitt and Paul Mccartney made me want to play.

5. Rosebud

Rosebud Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2007
    Alexandria, VA
    my friends older brother playing rage against the machine covers and nailing that style of playing, in a high school gym shortly after rage's first album

6. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

Aug 11, 2012
    Scotia NY
    I wanted to play it before I even knew what sound it was making on the records I was listening to. It was bigger than guitar, and had four big fat strings on it instead of six little ones. I just thought that was cool.