What makes a bass a "keeper"

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rojo412, Mar 9, 2014.

1. rojo412

rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Proprietor, ACF Custom
    I know for a fact there are a lot of people on here who flip basses a lot... and often! I'm one of them, I admit it. Though I've been playing for 20 years, I've had almost 100 basses in that time. Some, I had for a day... some for years! But most fell at some point to GAS for another bass.

Not too long ago, I picked up a 93 Stingray 4 on a whim because the price was right. It was added to my SR5 and Status 5 string in the stable to see if I could deal with a 4 string again.

[​IMG]

Over the years, I grew accustomed to 5s and many 4s had fallen out of favor with me, but I was coming to grips with the fact that most of my current playing didn't require 5, so this was me turning a new leaf. And honestly, I didn't know what to expect.

The meat of why I'm posting this is the fact that this bass really made me realize a few aspects of what makes a bass "a keeper". Players who flip may be searching for the next new thing or something that other basses don't give them.

For me, the experience has been like this:
    Every time I play this bass, at practice or a gig, it makes me even happier than the last time I played it. And that's really a fantastic feeling.
    That really made me think about what makes a bass stick to someone like me who doesn't tend to stick to things. I've definitely had basses "jump out" at me and I bought them. And I played them for a while, but eventually cooled on them for some reason or another.
    This is different. In fact, the other 2 I have are also like that. For some reason, it never truly dawned on me as such, but it's the truth.