What makes a good bassist?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Felix Riley, Dec 7, 2013.

1. Felix Riley

Felix Riley

Now, I have been playing bass for two years, and one question has always bugged me: how do I know if I'm any good? What is your criterion of a good bass player? I'd really be interested in hearing the different opinions.
  2. Dogbertday

Dogbertday

Does your playing cooperate with and help raise the level of the music your making with other people?

If you're a solo artist, do people like listening to you play?

For either, does your playing satisfy your own musical needs when listening to your own playing?
  3. garp

garp

In my book, modesty has always been a pretty good barometer. But I can’t discount the feeling of gratitude I get whenever I receive a compliment from a drummer.
  4. remainthesame

remainthesame

You don't want to know that you're good because then you will stop trying to get better. You should always be your own worst critic.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender and Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    Great timing, playing what's right for the song, not over playing, great tone, always being prepared.
  7. Guitalia

Guitalia

All the replies so far have been thought-provoking, e.g., garp's post #3, invoking "modesty." That's exactly right. This thread might end up as a sticky. Sub'ed.
  8. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Supporting Member

When people that you want to play with want to play with you.

As far as skill level goes, though... no matter what level of technique you've achieved, there's always more to learn and explore, and the chance to learn from others. Listen to Michael Manring on the subject. Model of humility in a musician.
  9. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

Watch the people around you. When they can't stop nodding their heads, tapping their feet, dancing, etc., then you know you are doing your job.
  10. Mennolineum