What makes a successful lesson space?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Franny, Feb 8, 2014.

1. Franny

Franny

Hi all,
    I'm a college student and music education major looking at future living spaces. I'm wondering what sort of space is most conducive to giving lessons in - specifically in a home environment. What makes a space good? What doesn't?

I'm looking to develop a living-room-esque area that is friendly to students, fellow musicians (jam sessions, anyone?) and just friends and family. Conducive to learning and being productive in a small or large group, but fun, too. I'd love your input!

Thanks in advance,
    Francine
  2. DC Bass

DC Bass Supporting Member

Neighbors! You might think, "It's my place, I can do as I please," but consider taking steps to insure that your musical activities do not raise their ire.

Some leases and HOA's have rules against running a business (private lessons) out of your home too...so make sure you are in the clear there as well.

Joe
  3. Franny

Franny

Thanks! I hadn't even thought of that part yet.
  4. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.
    For tax implications, it's better to have the BUSINESS space as separate as possible from the PERSONAL space. It's also a good idea for PSYCHOLOGICAL reasons; if you're in your studio and have a closed door, it's FAR less likely that you'll be called upon to help decide what's for lunch or take out the garbage or see if we have onions and broccoli before someone head's out shopping OR get another cup of coffee before practicing or watch TV before practicing or answer the phone before practicing or...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. MikeCanada

MikeCanada