What not to do

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by wcnewby, Nov 7, 2012.

1. wcnewby

wcnewby Supporting Member

I've been playing for about a year now, taking lessons for six months or so. (so I can read notes and play scales) I have not played with a band yet. I feel that I need to do this in order to progress. Since god hates a coward I started looking for a group that was local. I am meeting with a group in a week. They play country western, but not the "woman dun left me the dog got run over and my beer is warm" type. It has a nice classic rock sound... Naturally, I have spent my life listening to rock, and have never heard the songs on their list, though I do like what I am hearing.

Now here is the tricky bit. I don't really know what I am going to play yet, but I do know I'll figure it out. I have the "what am I going to do" grappled with. I've accepted that I don't know. What I'm scared of is what not to do. I've never played with a band before and I don't really want to be part of a band horror story as the causative agent... if you know what I mean.

What are the worst things you have seen new players doing? I ask in the interest of never doing them.
  2. Frohman

Frohman

Let's get this straight right away: You're going to f*** up. And that's not a bad thing. That is as simple as it is going to be. Playing with other people is just a completely different dimension of music, you're going to be feeling like you've just started the instrument.

Keep it simple, and groove. Don't try to impress anyone, just lock in and get in a flow-state of mind. Don't start doing scale runs and ad libs all over the place, because that's when you fall off the wagon.