What pickups to install?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by xethicx, Mar 7, 2014.

1. xethicx

xethicx

I am a guitarist, I pretty much only play bass when I am recording or occasionally during a jam. I bought this bass from a friend for basically nothing. Plays nice but the pickups are garbage. They are actives and they sound horrible.

[​IMG]

What pickups should/can I install in this with no routing etc. If it's any help, I really like the tone from ernie ball music man sting rays.

Also, does anyone have pickups to sell me for a good price? Let me know!
  2. BlueTalon

BlueTalon Happy Cynic

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Turnstyle Switch
    I'd contact BestBassGear and ask them. You might want to print a picture of the body, and note the exact lengths and widths of the pickups (outer edges, coils, screw holes). They might not need it, but it's better to be prepared.
  3. JustForSport

JustForSport

Looks like an RBX775- those are passive pickups with an active preamp, despite what some advertising states:
    pull the cover and you'll see there is no hot (batt) lead to the pickups.
    I think they sound better if the preamp is upgraded, but there is very little space in that cavity.
    I don't know who makes anything that exact size-
    the ceramic (w/exposed pole pieces) pickups in the RBX375 (close body style) are likely hotter/ louder than these.
    Haven't been able to A/B them, tho.
    I think I have a pair of the ceramic ones (also passive) if you're interested in a trade.
    PM me if you'd like- I'll try to make a size comparison.
  4. JustForSport

JustForSport

Bartolini may make something that size...
    1 1/2" x 4 3/4" size is 1/4" longer than Bart M5 and EMG 45 series.
    The RBX375 pickups (but dual-coil humbucker) are the same size (just measured them) as what you have (split-coils), so should be a bit stronger.
  5. xethicx

xethicx