What should I learn?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lordhasta, Feb 20, 2013.

1. Lordhasta

Lordhasta

Hi everyone.
    I'm fairly new to playing the bass guitar, I have been playing it for half a year now.

Since I will probably be starting a band with a friend of mine, I wanted to get a bit more serious in terms of learning bass. Our band will probably be geared towards Blues/Funk/Jazz, something around that.

My problem is: I really don't know what to learn... What do you guys recommend for my level of playing? I can slap, I know some scales, but not a lot, I am starting to get a bit decent at blues.

LH
  2. Einherjar

Einherjar

Probably not the answer you're looking for, but find a good teacher in your area who is proficient in the styles you want to learn. That way you can actually sit down with someone who can critique your abilities and show you what exactly is needed to reach your goals.
  3. john m

john m Supporting Member

Learn to play your instument---- then learn songs.

Reading music will make you a better musician and make it easier to explain the "how it works" part of music.
  4. Lordhasta

Lordhasta

Music and its theory in general is not really a problem for me, besides bass, I've also been playing classical piano for about 13 years now.
  5. Lordhasta

Lordhasta

I've considered that, but that costs money.. :meh:
  6. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

Learn the notes on the fretboard till it becomes second nature. Learn to read music. Find a bass teacher (not a guitar player who also teaches bass). Practice playing standing up. Always, always play with a metronome or drum machine. All in my humble opinion.
  7. msb

msb

You have some un-learning to do . Remember that three chord songs are always with everything major and you should be off to the races . Try to make the change just after the guitar player , always blame the drummer . Remember to speed up during solos ...

Have fun !
  8. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member