What to buy? New bass, amp, or neither?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dannyk, Feb 14, 2014.

1. dannyk

dannyk Supporting Member

OK, I'm new to the bass world.

I am going to start taking lessons and I want to focus on jazz. I would like to eventually gig. Would I be better off with a new jazz-oriented bass (fretless, even?) or should I buy an amp?

I have a bass to practice with - a Sterling Ray 4 S.U.B. series which was approximately $300 at the local music store. I play through my Eleven Rack's bass models (I'm a 20+ years experienced guitarist) and either listen with headphones or through my monitors.

My budget is limited to $700 with maybe an additional trade-in worth $800. But let's forget the trade-in funds for initial advice.

And, of course, the last option is to save the money for ... a higher end amp/bass?

Or, another thought. A higher end bass and a Sansamp?

Too many choices!

2. bnolsen

bnolsen

I'm not really qualified to answer you on bass in particular.

However, when picking up a new instrument, just play what you have for several months, even up to a year before moving to another one.

Unless you have a real stinker your first bass will be the one which will help guide you to the next one. And the teacher can help you with that as well.

3. jamiroquaisub

jamiroquaisub

The overwhelming consensus is that you get a lot more mileage out of a better amp than a better bass.

4. M0ses

M0ses

You're going to want an amp. You almost always need one of those to gig.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. stonewall

stonewall Supporting Member

There are lots of great pre owned basses and amps to choose from.You have a bass so go with a decent used amp first a $700 budget will get you something real decent.Once you decide or move forward into a band take your Sub and your trade and some cash move up to a better bass.good luck

7. DanGouge

DanGouge