1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

What to buy ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rickson, Dec 16, 2013.

1. Rickson

Rickson

Hello everyone, I hope you can give me some good advise.

I started playing bass around a year ago and enjoy it immensely. As a European going to the US I will be able to acquire a good USA made bass at a pretty good value. So I plan to buy a serious instrument and have my eyes on Rickenbacker (4003), Fender (J or P) og MM (Stingray 4) as an upgrade from a Godin Freeway 4 i've been using.

It appears to be hard to get prices on Rickenbackers 4003 online, what do they go for (price range) and are they hard to get?

For someone that has been playing for a year, are there any of my choices I should avoid?
  2. rust_preacher

rust_preacher Supporting Member

I have also "been there and done that" but be advised that many guitar stores do NOT have stock available in the high-end models. I have been lucky to have been able to buy from online sellers, shipping to my hotel, but I only have acquired "vintage" instruments this way.

Where are you going in the U. S.? That may decide your strategy.
  3. SoVeryTired

SoVeryTired Endorsing nothing, recommending much Supporting Member