What to do next? Help, please...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Hedgehog_SBM, Jan 5, 2014.

1. Hedgehog_SBM

Hedgehog_SBM

Hi All,

I've been playing for about 2 years now, loving it, and am looking for advice on what to learn next. Here's a little history, what I think I do well, and what I think I don't do well:

*) History:
    - right hand (plucking hand) technique is so comfortable that it happens without even thinking
    - left hand (fretting hand) - basically solid, except for trickly lines that require a lot of ring finger and pinky dexterity
    - I've learned about 60+ songs - so many that I can't remember how to play them all by memory alone.
    - Started playing classic rock and simpler R&B songs. Move on to a next level of "challenge" - which was funk/disco groves at decent tempos. Picked up a little slap/pop with those.
    - Started with StudyBass, and expanded to many instructional books, TrueFire videos, etc.

*) What I think I do well:
    - timing - always practiced along with songs or metronome. Practiced songs until my notes "covered" the originals - kept repeating until all notes were "perfect"
    - patterns - can play the basic one octave scales - major, minor, pentatonics, etc. and started two octave scales, but haven't felt I have really "used" them much yet.
    - ear/transcription - I download TABS that I find very helpful, but always find mistakes and correct them - many times in subtle lines (ghost notes, 16th note pick-ups, stuff like that). A good example here was finding that basically every TAB posted for the main phrase in the song "Le Freak" by Chic is wrong. :)
    - theory - I have a very good understanding of critical basics like the circle of 4ths and 5ths, etc.

*) What I think I don't do well: