What to expect from a bass teacher

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by elennare, Aug 20, 2013.

1. elennare

elennare

I'm starting to think about getting some private lessons to start with properly with the bass (level: noob). What do you suggest should expect/get from a real decent bass teacher?

Some music theory is in order, maybe. Score reading could be a plus but it's something i can do on my own in the future (I have some minor musical background).

What else you suggest? :)

Thanks in advance!

2. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

A good teacher should be able to plot a reasonable course of action to get you from where you are to where you need to be.
    A good teacher should be able to direct you away from things that will waste your time.

A good student has a goal, and does not expect motivation to come from the teacher.
    A good student is ALWAYS prepared for lessons.

3. RandomBox

RandomBox

Just make sure the teacher knows what he is doing.

My parents signed me up for bass lessons when I was 13 and the guy was mainly a guitar teacher (he taught my brother). All he did as teach me one scale, learn tab, and then get me into playing simple songs. Never any notation, or theory, or technical info.

So here I am 3 years later still only able to read tab.

4. lyla1953

lyla1953 Supporting Member

Try and find someone who is formally trained, possibly also teaches at a local college/university as well as private lessons, their main instrument is bass and gigs as well.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I'm a Fuzzrocious-aholic. It's been one week since I bought my last Fuzzrocious pedal.
    Always get a referral from someone you trust. A good teacher is worth their weight in gold. A bad teacher can suck the fun out of playing. Not to say that practice is all fun and games, but lessons should be set up to help you achieve your goals.

7. jeffbonny

jeffbonny Gold Supporting Member