What tool do I need for this?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Gorn Captain, Dec 19, 2012.

1. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

[​IMG]
    I want to tighten the truss rod on my Carvin AC40F. It's hex shaped. Should I just go at it with needle nose plyers and try to turn it? or is there a tool for it?
  2. phangtonpower

phangtonpower

I would find the right sized hex that goes on there. You can strip the nut with anything else.
    Take it to a tech and he can tell you what size you would need.
  3. Gorn Captain

I'm not a mechanically inclined kinda guy, so I don't understand why it's like this. There's generally a hole you put an allen key in. It looks like anything that would fit over this would be too big to get into that opening.
  4. 202dy

202dy Supporting Member

There is generally a nut. Some require an Allen (hex) wrench. Some require a nut driver. Others a screwdriver will suffice.

Yours requires a nut driver. Buy a set of good ones. They will last a life time.

On the other hand, if you are not "mechanically inclined" there are many good techs who will be ready, willing, and able to make the adjustments for you. Find a good one and make friends. You will be surprised what you will learn in conversation.
  5. CBRXJ

CBRXJ

6. Gorn Captain

Ooooh the googles. I shoulda known. I wonder if home depot would have something like this.
  7. bassmeknik

bassmeknik

I had to take a nut driver and grind it down on the outside to allow clearance for it to fit in the tight space. A "thin wall" nut driver will do the same thing or you could order the tool from Carvin. The auto supply store nearest you has something that will work nicely though.
  8. bassmeknik

bassmeknik

Yes Home Depot also carries nut drivers.
  9. bassteban

bassteban

You may need a *thin-wall*socket(rarely available at hardware stores, you might need to find a Snap-on or Mac tool guy; know any auto mechanics?)and handle, or the exact Carvin-specific tool.