1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

What would you do? (rack FX related)

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Happynoj, Feb 14, 2014.


  1. Happynoj

    Happynoj

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    I quit my band recently. Long story. Anyway, the bulk of my playing from now will be musicals and function stuff, so I decided that I want to get something in my rack with a bunch of effects that I can pop out if/when needed, so that I don't have to carry pedals round on the offchance, and I don't have to have anything on the floor when I'm in a pit. To this end, I also want to get a tuner in there.

    Now the restrictions:

    1 - I want to be able to run it all in the FX loop of my amp, so it has to work at line level. I don't want to be running cables from the front to the back of my rack.

    2 - I am more than happy with my amp tone, so I don't need modelling. If the solution has amp modelling that is fine as long as it can be bypassed.

    3 - I want a decent selection of effects, including gain stuff. I'm not expecting a digital rack mount effects unit to blow me away with the quality of its overdrives but it doesn't matter because it's not going to be something that I use every day.

    4 - I have 2u worth of rack available.



    I have come up with a couple of potential solutions. I am mainly looking for comments on my ideas, or any alternative suggestions. Mine are as follows:

    1 - A Line 6 Bass POD XT Pro. This has a bunch of effects and a tuner. The only thing I'm not certain of is whether it can run in an effects loop or not.

    2 - A Korg Pitchblack Pro and a Boss VF-1. By all accounts the VF-1 is a pretty cool unit with decent effects. It would also leave me with a half width space that I could smash a compressor or something into.


    Thoughts?
     
  2. Veldar

    Veldar

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    kurri kurri, NSW, Australia
    How much money you willing to drop?
     
  3. AlexBassMP

    AlexBassMP

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Location:
    Barcelona
    IMO rack tuner + Boss VF-1 fits with your need more than the line6 option.

    I think that Line6 is disegned to be a plug and play device more than a dedicated fx unit to insert in a preamp fx loop.
     
  4. Happynoj

    Happynoj

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    I can't afford an Axe-FX. But beyond that I don't really have a specific budget.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jon Moody

    Jon Moody Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist, Marketing/Social Media: GHS Strings
    I would go the Line 6 route, mainly because you mentioned playing in musicals and as a fellow "Pit-Bull," I can tell you that many places are going direct if at all possible. If not, good luck getting enough space in the pit for a large amp, let alone the ability to open it up to a volume you're happy with.

    So with that, if you had to, you could use the Line 6 as a stand-alone unit and have it under your seat or right next to you, and be able to control your sound as much as possible.
     
  7. Happynoj

    Happynoj

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    I'm more than happy going direct, but I like the sound of my amp so always use the DI out on the back of it. Whatever unit I use is just going to be used for effects in the loop of the amp.

    Do you have experience of using the Line 6? If so, can you comment on the quality/versatilaty of the effects and it's use in a live situation?
     
  8. Jon Moody

    Jon Moody Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist, Marketing/Social Media: GHS Strings
    I used a Line 6 BassPod LIVE! Floor unit for a couple years as my main rig (in church and musical theatre) where going direct was the only option. The sounds I got and the quality of them was fine; nothing spectacular, but they were pretty good. Sure, there are those ones in a multi-effects unit that are just awful, but you can't escape that. Thankfully, you can organize everything on your computer and take out the presets you really abhor.

    If you like spending a lot of time tweaking the parameters and everything, you'll love it for the versatility it offers. If you're a "stomp and go" type of person, it will frustrate you.

    Given that many bass scores don't require any effects at all, I ended up selling it. If I need them (or just think they'll work better), I'll bring a couple single effects along now. My tuner is either on the headstock, or on a floor unit, stuffed neatly under the chair.
     
  9. Veldar

    Veldar

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    kurri kurri, NSW, Australia
    Get a pod bass or a new pod Hd if you have the money and then a behringer midi controler.
     
  10. johnbegone

    johnbegone Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I recommend the Pod HD. As far as I know, it's still very lacking in terms of bass amp models, but since you don't need the modeling anyway, the effects are quite good. Signal routing is pretty unparalleled, so you won't have to worry about how to wire it up. Tons of options. 2U.
     
  11. Nephilymbass

    Nephilymbass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Fayetteville Ft Bragg NC
    I use a pod hd. I don't really use amp modeling as a preamp the pod is just in front of my rig like a virtual pedal board. I do also use a boss ls2 to isolate the pod(take it out of the signal chain) when I'm not using it which solves any tone suck issues. The only time i do use amp modeling is when using it to practice with headphones or sometimes ill use a guitar amp model as an overdrive because i like the amp models better than the distortion effects for dirty sounds.

    The line 6 m series is also nice but I particularly like the pod more because you can split the signal and run effects parellel to each other instead of only in series. This is really useful for adding low end to a dirty sound or having a washy reverb but still be able to hear the bass playing overtop of the reverb. So i use the ability to run effects in parellel kinda like id use a blend with pedals. The guitar amp models IMO sound better than the distortion/overdrive/fuzz effects for dirty tones. In fact i found the gain based effects pretty useless. It basically does everything effect wise that line 6 has ever put out. All the delays and looper options of the dl4 can be done on the pod. And you can program all the delays times and repeats specifically for different songs.
     
  12. Veldar

    Veldar

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    kurri kurri, NSW, Australia
    Yep just a pod HD pro with a midi controler and if you don't like the dirt/fuzz on it there's a effects loop you could put a pedal in.
     
  13. johnbegone

    johnbegone Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    No need for a midi controller, the FBV shortboard is great.
     
  14. Veldar

    Veldar

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Location:
    kurri kurri, NSW, Australia
    I forgot line 6 even made controllers.
     

Share This Page