What year is my Gibson EBO?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by adamiscole, Aug 11, 2012.

1. adamiscole

adamiscole

I've had this Gibson EBO for some time now but am just now getting to the point of really trying to figure out what year it is.. It kind of looks like a walnut finish but I think it's older than '72 when I guess that's when they started doing that.. I say that because it has the crown emblem on the headstock.. Also I've noticed some really minor pinkish/red chips of paint (which i've enclosed with the pics) on the guitar which makes me think it might have been refinished.. and speaking of, this might be why i can't read the serial number too well, which if I had to gues says 28755 or 28756..really hard to tell though.. Also there are no marks indicating a bridge cover or strings cover.. here's the pics and any help is greatly appreciated.. thanks

http://s244.photobucket.com/albums/gg14/adamiscole/Gibson EBO/
  2. THE SAW

THE SAW

I'm NO expert, but you've got an interesting mix of characteristics. The headstock emblem is older-much older, early 60's. The bridge is more mid 60's two point (and missing the mute device of course) and a 5 digit #beginning with "2" (1961??)is VERY early 60's. Tuners look early/ mid 60's (like my 1965)

HMMMMM......How does she play? Others chime in please! Very interesting what happens to these instruments over the years. For example, my 1965 has no thumb-rest and no holes, so we know the guard has to be from a later period.

Best,
    S.A.W.
  3. cynic_al

cynic_al

4. Mojo-Man

Mojo-Man Supporting Member

:cool:

Pickup is from the early-Mid 70's.

As said, looks to be refinished.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. D.M.N.

D.M.N.