1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

what

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Marc Piane, Jan 19, 2013.

1. Marc Piane

Marc Piane

So I've been playing a couple three years and know a few things. I like to take a lesson or two every once in a while from various people I respect to get inspiration as a rut buster. Our own Eric Hochberg has been great as well as some others but I feel like I'm not very good at articulating to them WHAT exactly I want to work on. Part of the problem is I get bogged down in the volume of material I already have to practice and lose focus.

So the question is, I guess particularly for pros, what do you like to get out of lessons?

2. David Kaczorowski

David Kaczorowski

Marc, if you knew what you needed to work on you wouldn't need the lesson.

3. Biggbass

Biggbass Supporting Member

What I came into the lesson to learn.

4. capncal

capncal

this right here.

i'm still a fairly new player (less than 5 years) and it's tough just to set up and maintain a practice routine. after i play though my band's original material, and then the covers we do, i've been learning Beatles bass lines and trying to play through the woodshed sections of various bass and guitar mags.

i would like to take lessons as well, just havn't got the cash or extra time right now. i would imagine when i do get to taking some lessons, i'll let whomever know my regular routine and listen to suggestions from them on what i may want to work on before the next lesson.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Ed Fuqua

Ed Fuqua

Disclosures:
    Chuck Sher publishes my book, WALKING BASSICS:The Fundamentals of Jazz Bass Playing.