1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

What's great about the 'Badass' bridge?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by aasti3000, Feb 6, 2013.

1. aasti3000

aasti3000 Supporting Member

Okay, before I see the sarcastic comments, please remember I'm a newbie bass player. I have a Fender Precision deluxe 5 string with the stock bridge. But most of the Fender threads I see I notice bassists switch their bridge to a badass bridge which I remember was on my Marcus Miller.

Can someone explain what's great about the Badass bridge? Or even one I think I read called a Hipshot bridge? I'm still trying to learn the technical aspects of a bass. You guys sound like NASA experts sometimes with your technical knowledge. Should I change the bridge on my bass? Will it make a difference in sound or something?
  2. bobm2112

bobm2112 Supporting Member

A lot of people claim they can hear a difference in tone when they switch to a high mass bridge such as the Bad Ass. I call BS on that claim. The only reason why I switched to a BA2 on 75 RI is because it looked cooler.

There will be people running around telling you that everything from paint to a bridge to pick guard material can and will effect tone. Hello McFly?? Im sorry to say this is not the truth.

I am no expert and what I say can be taken with a grain of salt. I just comment on what I personally witnessed :)
  3. IronLung1986

IronLung1986