What's the best way to learn music for a new original material band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by vulturedog, Mar 19, 2014.

1. vulturedog

vulturedog

I just moved on from one band and was quickly picked up by another band. This band has some very good musicians in it. They have gigs booked to play out and their current bassist is a drunk and unemployed and very unreliable. So they brought me in to replace him. Any way they have these gigs booked (next 3 weekends) I'm trying with my limited time to practice (I work a job for a living) the songs and get up to speed. I can tell there seems to be some pressure on me to get these songs down so they can eliminate the current bassist completely.
    The band plays all originals and has 9 songs. What is the best way to quickly get up to speed? They gave me recordings of music but with no lyrics or vocal tracks laid. I'm figuring 2 months before I'm fully comfortable to know the songs inside and out. Right now every day I just run through the songs and force myself to remember the notes and changes. What do you think?
    Any advice?
  2. obimark

obimark

Get them to right down the chord changes, any signature riffs and the song format. They should be able to do that for you.

Nothing annoys me more than people who wrote original music, but can't even tell you what the chord changes are...if you write a song, write it down for real.
  3. Mrzonehead

Mrzonehead

Chart them out. And read your bass off! You'll end up learning all the harmony that way and it'll make more sense melodically, hence making it easier to remember.
  4. vulturedog

vulturedog

P.s. They did give me some of the songs not all of them written out in chord form or root note on an abdf file wich helps but I still have to sit down with head phones and listen and even learn the song. I find it helps to listen and learn and write the song out on my own but fear of becoming dependent on written form to remember the songs.
  5. Joe Louvar