1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

What's the point of scales?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dbt25677, Nov 15, 2013.

1. Dbt25677

Dbt25677

I'm not saying they're useless, but what are they for and what's the advantage of practising them?

2. carl h.

carl h.

jdfniohsdvbiohdrvhidfvnihdfnvdnvSBHvhbd;ghbXD:vjn:XICjhvb:ZKDcvb;SDhvb;SDvb;skdhbfk;SHDbf;SHKbf;HKAwb1!!!!!!!

3. wisconsindead

wisconsindead Supporting Member

Well I'm no expert, but scales have provided me an easy way of finding the right notes to play when I dont know the song. Knowing the chord or key gives me the framework which tells me to hit a D instead of a D#, for example. I think it can be limiting to playing as you may feel it is wrong to leave the scale even though the notes which aren't in it can be used for certain effects or in certain styles, modes. Scales serve as intervals between notes which ultimately bring about a certain feel, its why jazz and blues sound the way they do.

I am really only familiar with the diatonic scales like major, minor, mixolydian and dorian (7 notes and the octave) where each letter is represented. The blues scale (hexatonic) is different in that it has a flat 5th or sharp 4th which I almost never play unless im in some weird spacey jam, where flat fives sound kinda cool.

I think scales will open doors, learning more is always a good thing

4. tjh

tjh Supporting Member

Carl is a sly fox.. not sure he was going here, but ... its kind of like saying 'What good is the alphabet?" ...

.. it is from all those 'letters' that words are made ... kind of like from those scale notes, musical phrases, melodies and chords are made ...

Carl, close?? ;)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Pudge Fish

Pudge Fish Gold Supporting Member