1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Where to place a compressor in your chain

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Musicman1901, Feb 12, 2013.

1. Musicman1901

Musicman1901 Supporting Member

I have a very large array of effects and have just traded for a compressor. Alot of people say to put it first in the chain but I have also heard people say to put it after envelope filters as they rely on your attack and touch so much and the compressor will affect this. I have no experience with compressors as i've never used one. This is my chain now in order.

bass-distortion-looper
    loop 1-fuzz
    loop 2-chorus-ring mod-flanger
    loop 3-Fuzz-Envelope Filter-Pitchfactor-Booster-Delay
    After the looper it goes to a tremolo which splits my signal.
    The first output goes to my amp. The second output goes to a rat then an eq then my other amp. Obviously the compressor wont go on a loop so I guess i'm wondering if it should go in the beginning of my chain or after my loops before my tremolo splits the signal

2. Emanuel Apascaritei

Emanuel Apascaritei

bass - comp - all the rest of what ever you have there....

But try to experiment. You can get different sound response depending on where you insert the compressor.

3. Got2SadowskyNYC

Got2SadowskyNYC

Disclosures:
    Artist: Sadowsky, Bag End, Visual Sound, Pedaltrain, George L
    I put the comp after my envelopes, octave and drive. It smooths out the peaks that these can cause. Mainly the octave and envelopes.

4. ugly_bassplayer

ugly_bassplayer Supporting Member

This.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. ugly_bassplayer

I put my tuner and Envelope filters before the comp, since the filter is sensitive to the playing level of your fingers.

I put all the dirt after (Fuzz, OD).
    And put my preamp at the end of the chain.