Where's the next Ned ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Roland GR 88, Jan 16, 2014.

1. Roland GR 88

Roland GR 88 Supporting Member

I've been playing since 1979 and have seen the bass industry grow from a few manufacturers to the hundreds that now exist. I have always had an eye for the unique builders or those that think outside the box. Leo Fender got it started with a combination of practical electronics and a timeless aesthetic. Ron Wickersham pushed the idea further with cutting edge electronics and the idea that a bass could be a work of art as well. Ned Steinberger then took us into the 21st century with composites, beautifully thought out and executed machining and radical takes on tuning, trems and such. So, what happened to the last 30yrs ? Steinberger still makes nice guitars and Ned deserves a peaceful retirement. Fender makes Fenders and I wouldn't expect that to change. Alembic makes basses that are still worth more than my car but nobody has put out a really new and unique product for a generation.
    So I ask all of you, where's the next Ned and what will he bring with him ?
  2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

3. M.R. Ogle

M.R. Ogle Supporting Member

Good question!
    Wild speculation: A composite instrument that you snap your iPhone into and it wirelessly transmits your sound (which can be dialed up to be any one of dozens of classic bass sounds) to your PA system.

I love my bases, but technology is SOOO far beyond these wood, wire-and-magnet with mechanical pots circuitry, it's laughable. Antique technology.

Unfortunately, most amps and sound systems aren't THAT much better, either!
  4. Selta

Selta

Disclosures:
    Uncompensated endorsing user: EBMM