Which affordable Fender bass for a guitarist? P/J combos?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by De93, Sep 27, 2013.

1. De93

De93

I'm a guitarist and I want a Fender bass, preferably Mexican and passive. It will be used mostly for DI recording with a Pod HD to help me in songwriting, the music is mostly alternative rock/punk. I really like the neck and brighter character of a J bass, but it seems like most people suggest a P bass for rock. I've seen some basses that have the P split pickup as well as a bridge J style pickup. Does this retain some of that P bass lowend with the bite of a J bass? If so that may be something I would like. I would like to spend 500-700 at most, and used prices are done although I prefer something new. I think I'd like passive electronics better, and a J bass style neck. What basses fit the bill? Should I get a J bass since I am leaning towards them, or are there any P/J combos in my price range? Are those basses even good options?

Sorry I'm certain this has been asked a million times.

2. Shardik

Shardik

Have you considered a Squier? If you can try it in a shop before you buy, I think you can get very good value for money. Have you actually tried to play P-basses vs J-basses? I think you'll be surprised to discover that both have a rather slim feel when you come from a 6 string. I also started out on a J-type neck, and have had 3 such basses. The P-pickup has, however, a special sound that is hard to emulate with other types of pickups.

Now I will get my first P-bass with a PJ pickup set (sold my J-bass). The closest music shop have ordered one of these for me, and I will be able to try it before I decide to buy:

http://www.fender.com/en-SE/squier/...ass-pj-rosewood-fingerboard-3-color-sunburst/

I tried the previous display sample of this model, and it blew me away for the price. Weight, playability and flexibility in sound was great.