Which bass for a newb starting bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ete203, Jul 16, 2011.

Which bass for new player?

1. Yamaha RBX170

35 vote(s)
    52.2%
  2. Ibanez GSR200

32 vote(s)
    47.8%
  1. ete203

ete203

I haven't ever played a guitar, or honestly even held one, and am looking into getting a bass guitar. I do have some musical knowledge from playing the cello, piano, and singing so I guess im only a newb to guitars.

I am stuck trying to decide which bass to get. I am on a budget and both are about the same price at $80 (ebay) and have seen people suggest both guitars to start with.

The candidates are:

Yamaha RBX170 (new in package with everything but an amp)
    Ibanez GSR200 (has been played 4 times and is year old)

Thanks for your input!

Edit: Buying a new Yamaha RBX170 tomorrow off craigslist for $80, thanks for opinions and votes!

2. Tupac

Tupac

None of the above. Squier VM Jaguar Special for $200. Or, if you want to chip in 50 more, your options expand greatly.

3. tom once dead

tom once dead

Play both and see what which one you like more. I started off on an RBX, but the necks on the ibbys are slimmer, which I prefer.

4. Punk Rock Jason

Punk Rock Jason

I started on a GSR200. Worked out nicely for me. Played it for 3 years before I upgraded and passed it on to another aspiring bass player. It's a solid starter bass. Nothing bad to say about it.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. VanillaThundah

VanillaThundah VERY enthusiastic walks... Supporting Member

Media:
    GSR200 was a great starter bass when I started back in '04, but there are MUCH better options in that price range nowadays.

Squier VM and Classic Vibe series basses are phenomenal (I own two right now and wouldn't think of selling either one) for the price. Schecter Raiden Deluxe basses are great too if you want to put a bit more money in. GSR200 isn't bad, it just doesn't take the cake on bang for the buck anymore.

7. 5 String Rich

5 String Rich