Which DI for a between head and cab signal?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by denton57, Jan 13, 2009.

1. denton57

denton57 Supporting Member

I am interested in a DI that will go between the head and the cab. Which ones do this? I want the pre from my SVT going through to the FOH. I use a passive bass (P-Bass) 100% of the time.

I am also thinking about a mic for the rig, but this DI option of using the SVT pre seems far better than just a bass into a box into the SE hands!

So...Radial JDI? (Passive or Active?), Countryman? Do these do this? I am a newbie to the DI box scene.

HELP!
  2. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    JDI yes, and it's passive. Countryman yes, and it's active. Also the Avalon U5, active. In all cases, check the wattage handling given in the specs, compared against your amp.
  3. Nick Kay

Nick Kay

If you just want the preamp of the SVT, you can also take the DI feed off of the effects loop send. Putting it between the head and cab, you'll also get some poweramp colouration.
  4. James Hart

James Hart

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. denton57

7. AlembicPlayer

AlembicPlayer

speaker sim, between head and cab -

I've used the Hughes and Kettner RedBox with satisfying results as well
  8. markjazzbassist

markjazzbassist Supporting Member

Albums:
    +1

bongo beat me to it again
  9. AlembicPlayer

AlembicPlayer

pardon, but a DI that goes between the head and cab..speaker simulation -

those listed are not for that application..correct? The countryman, JDI and Avalon are wonderful DI's but they are not designed to replace a speaker load.
    just trying to get clear on the OP's request.
  10. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs