Which major for actually building stuff?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Journey55, Feb 23, 2014.

1. Journey55

Journey55

Right now I'm a freshman in college with engineering (electrical) as my major but I'm becoming more aware that most engineers don't actually build them, they just design them and have someone else build them. While that might be ideal for some people, I want to physically build things...so what major is that? Ideally it'd be building instruments and such however there probably isn't too good of a market there. Basically what does one need to study in college to get to the profession of physically building stuff (designing too but not just solely designing)
    Thanks!
  2. DerHoggz

DerHoggz I like cats :| Supporting Member

Some field that does one-off type stuff maybe, so you could do design and implementation? Motorsport? Start your own business is probably the best bet. I think you'll find little overlap in most places.
  3. Stewie26

Stewie26 Gold Supporting Member

The engineers at the company I worked for were always getting their hands dirty working on prototypes, product tooling and jigs, and such. Just sayin.
  4. kanonfodr

kanonfodr Supporting Member

While I was doing low voltage electrical work in Texas, I spent 3 months working in a semiconductor plant that had it's R&D facilities co-located. Plenty of the engineers had test equipment in their cubicles, prototype boards, etc. It's not necessarily about the degree, it's what position you inevitably land. I would suggest finishing the degree plan and then trying to land in a company that designs and manufactures equipment on-site.

Peace,
    Greg
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. will33

will33

Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited