1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Which mode with which chord?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by mb17180116, Jun 11, 2006.

1. mb17180116

mb17180116

Im new to this mode stuff so i know some things but i wanted to clear some stuff up.

1: From what i understand, using my chord progression chart, an E phrygian mode would sound good with an E minor chord(key of C) and an E dorian mode would would work (key of D) My question is how do you know which one or will they both work?

Though maybe you would go with whatever key they guitar was in, but what if the chords being used are all over and not confined to a key...

Also, when it comes to these modes, obviously they show you what notes can be used, but just say you just memorize all the notes that can be used in a certain key, forget abought the modes, and just remember for example, use a D often with a D minor chord, or use C often with a C major chord, would that work or is there a certain reason they are grouped into mode shapes?

Sorry if its kind of hard to understand, im the kind of person who tries to get the whole picture of whats going on before i really start digging into the details...
  2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Supporting Member

You need to know the function of the chord in the sequence.
  3. Cerio

Cerio