Which of these 5-string basses should I get?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SuicideSeason, Feb 23, 2014.

1. SuicideSeason

SuicideSeason

I've been playing bass for nearly 5 years, but I've never gotten a second bass; I've always had my 4-string Ibanez that came in one of those "Jumpstart" packages. It's a good bass, but I think it's time to make the upgrade to the 5-string (been wanting one for a long time). Problem is, I'm on a budget of around $200. I've been looking around the internet & I've come across these (I'm not in a band and I don't gig, so it shouldn't matter if any of these are giggable or not):

Rogue LX205B:
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Rogue-LX205B-5-String-Series-III-Electric-Bass-Guitar-H11149-i1549554.gc

Dean Edge 09:
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Dean-Edge-09-5-String-Bass-104221015-i1147920.gc

ESP LTD B-5JR:
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/ESP-LTD-B-5JR-Short-scale-5-string-Bass-Guitar-107409948-i2745245.gc

Squier Affinity Jazz V:
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/Squier-Affinity-5-String-Jazz-Bass-V-104482054-i1173424.gc

If anyone could tell me if they have any experience in any of these basses, or just their opinion on which one I should get, then I thank you in advance. :)
  2. nukes_da_bass

nukes_da_bass Supporting Member

There's a used Schecter Diamond series 5 string used on EBay right now with a buy it now of $199 and $38 shipping so if your budget can come up $37.75 THATS what I reccomend!
  3. chinmullet

chinmullet

4. but_ch

but_ch

I'd vote for the Squier. I have played one and it felt and sounded great!
  5. Apolicious

Apolicious

6. gerryjazzman

gerryjazzman Supporting Member

Also take a look at the 5 stringers on www.rondomusic.com. LOTS of info on TB about SX (search for essex) basses.
  7. Sid Fang

Sid Fang Reformed Fusion Player Supporting Member