1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Whizzer cones

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Rob Mancini, Mar 6, 2008.

1. Rob Mancini

Rob Mancini Guest

I have zero experience with whizzer cones, other than old stereo systems I've owned that had coaxial speakers. But I know I'm pretty disenchanted with tweeters, and I'm wondering if whizzers would be an option to look into. I'm probably not concerned with anything past 12K since that's where a cable typically shelves the highs anyway, so would a whizzer make the highs less intense?

So what are your opinions of bass cabs loaded with whizzers? I know EA is probably the leading maker that uses them, but I have no experience with them. I have a Markbass Mini CMD121P combo, and everything about it is perfect except the tweeter. If you've heard that amp, how would a whizzer cab compare to the tweeter and 12" in it?

2. bobyoung53

bobyoung53

I thought they stopped making them in 1963 :bag:, incidentally a coaxial speaker has two separate speakers in it, a whizzer cone is a little cone attached to the voice coil of a larger speaker and is consider one speaker. I always thought they were kind of a gimmick.

3. r379

r379

Eminence was making a 10" wizzy speaker several years ago and perhaps they still are. Check their website.

4. DumDrummer

DumDrummer

I just picked up an EA Wizzy 112. I love it. I am running it with a Fender 250 HD. I really haven't read a bad review yet of the EA wizzy. If you are looking for a little of the old school sound, you can't go wrong.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. alexclaber

alexclaber

Disclosures:
    Director - Barefaced Ltd