1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Who else here is of this rare breed: the acoustic bass guitar player?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Silverhorizon, Jul 1, 2013.

1. Silverhorizon

Silverhorizon

I have been playing the bass guitar for 4 years, and over a year ago I picked up a good quality acoustic bass. I bought it to play acoustically as many bassists do, but plugged in it had this sound that I just loved. After that and some messing around with the acoustic bass I am now mainly an acoustic bass guitar player. Who else is of this rare breed?
  2. ncpilot2

ncpilot2

I have a Michael Kelly Club Custom 4 and love the tone. I don't play it exclusively, but it does blend well with other acoustic instruments, better than most electrics.
  3. GKon

GKon Supporting Member, Boom-Chicka-Boom Supporting Member

I love my Oscar Schidt 4 string acoustic/electric.

I had put the bass down for a couple of years, sold of my gear.
    For my 30th b-day I decided to get a bass again. I didn't even know they made acoustics (this was 14 years ago). I happened to see the O.S. in a used guitar store and bought it.

It changed my world in that I could go outside and play without having to lug gear around (imagine, I used to lug around my electric with a pocket rockit amp so I could play outside).

I still have it and love it, although it's not my only bass.
  4. MD

MD