1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Who here only plays fretless bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by fourstringbliss, Dec 8, 2012.

1. fourstringbliss

fourstringbliss Supporting Member

Who here only plays fretless?
  2. spade2you

spade2you

I did for many years. I'm now playing half and half.
  3. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

I'm a fretless only kind of guy.

I started playing music on a Cello when I was 10. I switched to bass guitar when I was 16, excited about the frets because I figured they'd make it easier.

I switched to fretless bass 5 years ago. I have since sold all my fretted basses, since they hadn't been touched in a few years.
  4. fourstringbliss

I'm asking because I've always played fretted but I'm going to be defretting one of my basses. I'm wondering if I'm going to like fretless better. It seems like it would be harder to play but it's probably just an adjustment.
  5. dukeisdog

dukeisdog Supporting Member

I bought a fretless MM Stingray 5 with rosewood board, it was lined and a killer bass, but the fretless sound just didn't work with what I was going for. I could never get the bass to sound aggressive or dirty enough for my liking even with my Sansamp RBI's dialed in.

I've been kind of contemplating picking up a fretless Spector 5 string but don't know if I should expect the same tame sound out of the naturally more aggressive sounding Spector due to the fretless neck.