Who to transcribe?

Discussion in 'Ask Todd Johnson' started by Jaret, Apr 2, 2011.

1. Jaret

Jaret

Hi Todd,

My name is Jaret and I've been playing electric bass for over 10 years and 2 of those were spent getting a jazz diploma. I'm at the point where I want to do more transcribing of walking bass lines. I'm just wondering if you could recommend particular players, over others, to transcribe. Ray Brown, Ron Carter, Paul Chambers. In other words, who is the go to guy for great walking bass lines?

Regards,

Jaret

2. mstott25

mstott25

Hey Jaret,
    I know you asked Todd and he'll respond for sure but I'll jump in because this is an interesting question and it's something I've asked Todd about in the past.

I know Todd will tell you that you can't go wrong with Ray Brown, Ron Carter or Paul Chambers although I suspect he would have you start with Ray Brown.

Most importantly, and something Todd shared with me as well, it will make a HUGE difference if you go after a particular tune or line that really appeals to you. Definitely we need to hear from guys like Todd and take their advice to give us a direction to start in but we get much more out of a line when it's something that catches our ear and appeals to us.

Personally I got really turned on to transcribing by Todd and I started transcribing blues first. I went after lines I liked and gravitated towards players I was really interested in at the time. So I transcribed Ray Brown, Doug Watkins and a ton of Steve Swallow in the beginning (all of them playing over Blues). Then I started moving towards songs/standards that I really wanted to learn.

Oh yeah, another thing, of all the times I've seen Todd play I've never see him anywhere near a Fakebook. I wanted to be like that also and have all these tunes internalized, so I never approached any of them with Real Book or chord charts.