Why Did You Choose Plectrum ?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by JackB1, Jan 18, 2013.

1. JackB1

JackB1

Hi guys
    I'm doing a dissertation on plectrum style players for my degree in Commercial Music and I wanted to find out from all you bassists who use a plectrum the reason as to why you chose to play with a pick. As little or as much detail as you would care to give.
    Thanks
    Jack
  2. autodidact

autodidact

I play primarily precision basses and I just love the full, bright sound you can get with a pick. Also when I started playing a lot of the punk guys I idolized used picks and I sort of just picked it up along with their playing style. Some times certain music just sounds better picked
  3. Rageadon

Rageadon

I like the "clacky" sound, and the bass sounds louder too ;P!
  4. jgroh

jgroh Supporting Member

I chose a pick because my first teacher chose it for me! =)

I have since learned to use my fingers on 90% of the songs we play, but I still love the pick on certain ones. It gives a clean and clear tone that cuts through the mix.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. PatQ

PatQ

I love how it makes my Thunderbird sound. And I really like how you can use your palm to mute the strings!
  7. BlistryFingas

BlistryFingas

The strident, crisp tone. That trebley punch.
    Also, my musical influences include many bassists who use picks:
    Justin Chancellor - Tool
    Jon Duke - John Mark McMillan
    All Grunge bands
    Most Stoner bands

The timbre/tone of a picked bass accommodates a certain sound.
    I can't encapsulate the entire scope of what style sounds good with picked bass, but
    typically tone-rich music where the guitar is distorted or very bright and the drums are solid and tight. It makes for a sound that "cuts".
  8. FrednBass

FrednBass

*grabs popcorn*
  9. perogato02

perogato02

For the punch and extra attack
  10. NickyTrigger

NickyTrigger

Primarily this band: