Why Do I Love GHS Bass Boomers???

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Bockscar, Nov 7, 2012.

1. Bockscar

Bockscar

I have used almost every brand and make of strings on my MIA jazz with EMG's. I'm fairly new to TB and I don't ever really see much about GHS Boomers other than that folks can't stand them.

I can't seem to find anything that sounds better to me. I actually took a set of TI jazz flats off of the bass to put Boomers on it! Crazy right!?

I wanted to like Dr Hi Beams, Rotosounds, or anything a little more unique but they just don't sound the same. Any thoughts on GHS Bass Boomers???
  2. dougjwray

dougjwray

I'm with you, although I've expanded my tastes a bit so that I use different brands on different basses (DR Fatbeams, Dunlop nickels, etc.). And I have flatwounds on a couple of basses, too.

But my "desert island" strings are certainly GHS Bass Boomers.
  3. Phalex

Phalex Yeah, I've got the moves like Jagger. Supporting Member

+1! I don't put anything else on my Ric!
  4. marc40a

marc40a

Big fan, here.

...great tension, grunty, full-bodied.
  5. miiitch

miiitch

i like them as well
    not searching for a bright tone on my 5er anyway, and they don´t feel rough at all :)

on my 7string i need (thin) stainless steels though
  6. oerk

oerk

I like them, but they go dead way too quickly for me.
  7. BogeyBass

BogeyBass

sorry never had much luck with them.

the ball ends would break on the A and D strings
    and i never had a set that would last longer than the first use.
    Its surprising, i must say they are consistent......at breaking.

But they do have a pretty bright tone, maybe that is what you like.

Likewise I used flats for awhile, then went back to round wound.
    And I enjoyed having some highend back and a little more aggressive feeling with overdrive tones.

So maybe that is what you like..... a change
  8. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks