Why Doesn't Warwick Make More Passive Basses?

Discussion in 'Warwick Basses' started by Herrick, Nov 26, 2012.


  1. Herrick

    Herrick

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Munchkin Land
    I can't look at the site right now 'cause it doesn't seem to be working at my place of employment. The last time I looked around, the vast majority of Warwick basses were active. I'm talking about the Germang-made basses. I know they make some passive Rockbass & Pro Line models. Why doesn't Warwick offer more Germang-made passive basses? You could attract more of the Passive-Only players like Herrick.

    Note: I have a passive Corvette Standard bought used.
     
  2. mc_muench

    mc_muench

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,709
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    I agree! I want just a passive warwick P bass. Classic P bass sound with a hint of Warwick
     
  3. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,471
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
  4. mc_muench

    mc_muench

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,709
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Exaclty, except make it your oil stain.

    What's with the 3 controls?
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,471
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
    The 3 controls are volume, treble, and bass. Please let me know if you've got any questions. Thanks!
     
  7. Means2nEnd

    Means2nEnd Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    somewhere between York, and Lancaster PA
    Jazzman is equipped with passive pickups and a push pull active passive master volume...best of both worlds. Star bass, Double Buck are passive as well..

    I have had excellent success changing preamps and pickups in several of my Warwicks as most manufacturers other pickups will have sizes that are interchangeable if one is so inclined with a soldering iron.:)
     
  8. TolerancEJ

    TolerancEJ

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,276
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    @Means2nEnd My Thumb BO 6 also has an active/passive push-pull knob.
     
  9. Herrick

    Herrick

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,115
    Location:
    Munchkin Land
    I thought the Double $$ was active. The three listed in the German-made section of the site all list active electronics.

    I should've been more specific in my first post. I meant exclusively passive basses. It's good that they give the option of passive & active all on one bass but I'm not a fan of having controls on the bass that I'd never use. *shrugs*
     
  10. Jon Moody

    Jon Moody Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist, Marketing/Social Media: GHS Strings
    The $$ has passive pickups and an active preamp, with a push/pull for active/passive operation. You could pull the pre out and wire it passive daily easily (or have it in the custom shop done that way).
     
  11. willyrep

    willyrep

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    551
    Location:
    New Orleans
    My Taranis 5 is ALL passive. J/MM vol/blend/tone. Eazzy peazzy
     
  12. socialleper

    socialleper

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    Canyon Country, CA
    +1 to this. That's how mine works.
     
  13. Jon Moody

    Jon Moody Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist, Marketing/Social Media: GHS Strings
    I think that's their standard for any of the passive pickup/active elec basses. My JB Survivor is the same way, although I keep thinking that it would be so easy to take it straight passive, so I'd have ONE in the stable...
     
  14. Means2nEnd

    Means2nEnd Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    somewhere between York, and Lancaster PA
    Sorry for not adding to the forum lately been in the Palm Springs Palm Desert CA area all week. Much good information here about the stock MEC electronics. There can be an easily misunderstanding of a push pull master volume knob. Sometimes like in my jazzman it is an actual active passive switch in other cases like the Thumb BO mentioned it is only a preamp bypass switch. Essentially performing the same function but the pickups being active still have 9 volts running through them or there would be almost zero output. So it's not a fail safe at a gig if his batteries were to die. No juice no music. Easy to open the cavity and trace the extra red wires from the pickups to the battery or batteries.
     
  15. Jon Moody

    Jon Moody Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist, Marketing/Social Media: GHS Strings
    It IS a fail safe, as the pickups alone draw far less current than the preamp does. I actually had this happen during a gig with my Streamer, an the push/pull saved my butt until intermission.
     
  16. Means2nEnd

    Means2nEnd Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    somewhere between York, and Lancaster PA
    Good to know you still were able to get through that's awesome.
     
  17. Jon Moody

    Jon Moody Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,563
    Location:
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist, Marketing/Social Media: GHS Strings
    It was, but after that I usually keep a battery on my amp at every gig (especially since I switched the preamp to a Seymour-Duncan, which does not have the EQ-bypass feature).
     
  18. Means2nEnd

    Means2nEnd Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    somewhere between York, and Lancaster PA
    There is another member here who is a Warwick nut too and I did several custom wiring jobs for him. Two of them I actually installed active passive switching and moved the push pull slap contour option to a switch as well. They were with active pickups but like we talked about before it can still be useful. If you dig your Duncan like I do. I have them in 4 of my basses and you are interested in having that option let me know I will drawl it out for you. Not too hard and the cavity has plenty of room for the switch if you are ok with drilling a hole and soldering. I even installed a kill switch in my SS2. I find it more useful than almost any other mod I've done.
     
  19. WarwickOfficial

    WarwickOfficial

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1,471
    Disclosures:
    Warwick & Framus Social Media
    Thanks for the excellent input guys, its greatly appreciated!
     
  20. RedMoses

    RedMoses Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,064
    Location:
    NYC
    I have owned 4 Warwicks (still have two), each one with a different Pick up/Pre configuration. I have never seen a German Warwick fully passive, it would be nice to have a Traditional "Tone" knob when turning of the preamp. Does Warwick make something like that? for a Thumb?
     
  21. Means2nEnd

    Means2nEnd Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    somewhere between York, and Lancaster PA
    RedMoses, all thumbs come stock with active pickups. Bypassing the preamp and having a passive tone knob would be redundant as in pickups always active either using a 2 band pre amp like in a bolt on or 3 band in a neck through or an overall tone knob with pickups always active. The passive tone knobs that can be wired in or ordered like with Nordstrand, John East, Pope, Bartolini work best with passive pickups are functional in active or passive but are much more useful with passive pickups.

    Only having 3 pot holes in a Thumb makes it difficult but I guess with say passive Bartolini pickups and a stacked volume/volume stacked 2 band bass/treble no mids the center hole could be the passive tone pot. Anything is possible¬Ö.Anyone needing assistance or wiring diagrams let me know. Thanks!
     

Share This Page