Why no low-mid price range amps/combos?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by mrbell321, Nov 1, 2012.

1. mrbell321

mrbell321

I've been getting by w/ my $30 15-watt crate amp for a while now. I can do this because I haven't played along with anyone else and more often than not, I use headphones. But I recently started jamming w/ some people and the 15-watt doesn't cut it. I doubt a 25-watt would either. That seems to be all that is available up to about $100. Then there seems to be absolutely no options until you get to almost $300 to get a 100W or more. BTW, yes I know wattage isn't isn't everything and isn't consistent.

I'm not a professional and I have no aspirations to be one. This is just a hobby for me. So I'd like to spend ~$150 or MAYBE $200 on something jam worthy. Hell, the two basses I own cost less than $200 together. But there doesn't seem anything in this range used or otherwise, at least locally. It's harder to find something not local since
    1) I can't hear it/try it
    2) shipping 50lbs is spendy
    3) I don't see anything reasonable anywhere else, anyway.
    I don't want to knock down any buildings with it, I just want to hear myself(and pretend I sound good) in with the drums and guitar. I think at least 50W would pass, 75W would be great.
    I have some electronics and woodworking experience, so I was even looking to build something too. But even a decent driver would take almost my full budget.

Sorry, I'll stop ranting now...

On to what I have looked at.
    I tried out an Ampeg ba115, but I didn't like it at all. Pawn shop, so it could have been damaged and the guy wanted $350 for it.
    I also tried out a used Fender Rumble 100. I actually liked this one, but the guy was asking more than I wanted to pay. Plus this thing was heavier than I want to lug around.