Why only one speakon connector?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Hopkins, Nov 3, 2012.


  1. Hopkins

    Hopkins Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Why do they still make amps today with just one Speakon connection?

    I just picked up a used tube amp (Eden E300T) though its not new, its not old either. Its got one Speakon and two 1/4" phone connections. My GK 410 NEO cabs have one Speakon, and one 1/4" connection. So no matter what, I am stuck with using a 1/4" connection, either plugged into the amp or daisy chained out of the cab. Its not a huge deal, but I much prefer using Speakon because I think its a much safer connection.
  2. warnergt

    warnergt

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Vortex of sin and degradation
    I can't speak for every amp/cab out there but it seems pretty
    common to me for the amp to have one Speakon connector.
    If the cab is 8 ohms, it often has two Speakon connectors so
    you can daisy chain it.
    If the cab is 4 ohms, it often has one Speakon connector.

    There are probably countless exceptions to these rules but I
    see this a lot.
  3. john m

    john m Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Space requirements (including inside the box).

    Cost (including labor to make connections).
  4. StereoPlayer

    StereoPlayer

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Location:
    Saginaw, MI
    Sometimes the head has two speakon outs...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bobcruz

    bobcruz

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    For this reason I made a custom Speakon cable--the amp connector has two cables leading to a connector one each end for the cabs. It looks like a "V". One leg of the V is shorter since it only has to reach the top cab. Easy to make and no soldering required with Speakons.
  7. rapidfirerob

    rapidfirerob Fusion rules! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Genz Benz=two speakon outs. :)
  8. Kenner

    Kenner

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    The Mini of Apolis........
    GK = two speakon outs :)
  9. Growly Lytes

    Growly Lytes

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Location:
    Downunder Oz
    Disclosures:
    Bass player
    I just took my cabs in & got speakon connections put in the cabs.
    Amp has 2 stereo & parallel speakon outputs & the cabs had only 1/4'.
    Companies should open their eyes just a little.
  10. Hopkins

    Hopkins Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Location:
    Houston Tx
    Yeah, I was using a 700rb before I got a tube amp.

Share This Page