1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Wife or girlfriend coming to every gig.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by thenazz, Dec 20, 2013.

1. thenazz

thenazz

I don't like it. I'm a full type musician, it's my job. Sometimes I just want to hang with the guys between sets, or go talk to the patrons in the club, which I think is good for business. Thoughts?

2. electracoyote

electracoyote

I gig about every weekend. My wife comes to every gig. I have no idea why. I don't think she's jealous or possessive. I think she really likes the music, the show, and hanging with the other band posse. Sometimes I have time to hang out with her between sets. Sometimes I do not. She knows and accepts this going in, and she is never resentful. She is an angel. If your wife or sig. other is like this, there is no reason not to have them there at the gig. If you get friction, you have a problem on your hands, no doubt.

3. Groovy_Gravy

Groovy_Gravy

Tell your wife to go talk with her friends on set break??

4. wmheilma

wmheilma

Roll with it! My wife never comes to shows anymore which is too bad. If you gig enough long enough she'll probably stop coming.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Wolffgang

Wolffgang

If you can't say that to her in an open, honest conversation and have her be cool with it, you've got bigger problems that talkbass can't help with >.>

7. Mike Dimin

Mike Dimin Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Clinician: EA, Zon, Boomerang, TI. Author "The Art of Solo Bass"
    I agree. I don't think my wife would appreciate me going to her job everyday, applauding as she finishes up with every patient.

This is work, I'm a pro. I need to be able to focus without the distractions family brings to the job

8. Bassconbeatz

Bassconbeatz Way down low

I have no choice. My wife is our keyboard player :)

9. ZachariahLee

ZachariahLee