Will my Carvin R600 work for bar gigs?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Zephrant, Feb 18, 2014.

1. Zephrant

Zephrant

So I bought my first full stack from a friend that is moving- All Carvin, with a R600 head, and a R210T and R115 cabs.

The Carvin head has two 300W amps in it, setup for highs and lows, each amp is wired to one cab.

I'm not yet impressed with the volume. In my house, it's great of course, but it feels weak, compared to my Behringer BXL3000 combo amp (300W, 1x15). I'm actually afraid to turn up the Behringer past 2.5.

But the with the Carvin turned way up, it's loud, but not scary loud. I'm still learning the controls, but with my bass turned all the way up, input at 12, and power amp controls at 10, I can turn up the master volume pretty high and not crack plaster.

I realize that loud is not everything, and I actually don't like loud but I don't want to take it to a gig and be underwhelmed.

Will it perform for good-sized bar gig? Do I just need to learn how to set it up, or will the sound carry better than I think?

The set is like new- never gigged, used only occasionally in a home recording studio by an Electrical Engineer, etc... So I'm pretty certain it's not blown or damaged in any way.

2. spaz21387

spaz21387

It should With the right cabs That thing can get really loud. The carvin redline cabs arent the best though. I had one and was running 2 2x15s on one channel and a 6x10 and a 2x15 on the other. I only had to turn up to like 3 on the master. The trick is to set the volume for each channel the same. Id do them at like 7 or so. Then use the master to control volume.

3. Bulldawg82

Bulldawg82 Supporting Member

With two 8 ohm cabs, it is going to give you only 250 watts (download the manual here): http://www.carvinservice.com/crg/manual_finder.php