Windows 7 vs Windows 8

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by tdf_xi, Feb 23, 2013.

1. tdf_xi

tdf_xi

Hi all,
    Not sure if this is the right forum but here goes anyway.
    I'm planning on buying a new laptop in the near future and wasn't sure if I should stick with W7 or get a copy of W8. I remember reading a blog a while ago saying that W8 is better for audio recording and such. On the other hand I also saw posts stating that latency is higher on W8. Anyone got any experience with this?
    On a side note, I only started playing bass a short while ago. My current setup is bass -> Komplete Audio 6 -> Guitar Rig 5 through Reaper.

2. Oblique

Oblique

You'll be just fine with Win7. I've built 3 computers over the past year and a half with Windows 7 , two for studio recording, and it runs great - it's what Vista should have been.
    I haven't kept up on Win8 since it was in beta but I did hear audio latency did suffer a bit - pro audio not being a priority for MS.
    The big thrust of Win8 seems to be the touch screen interface, if You don't need it stick with 7.
    Good Luck

3. ecj_bass

ecj_bass Supporting Member

Most drivers and DAW's are updated for the Windows 7 architecture. Windows 8 isn't fully supported by all major brands yet, so I'd say stick with Windows 7.

4. mrbell321

mrbell321

I've actually had more latency issues with Windows 7.
    Windows 8 is kind of a mess, but it doesn't seem like MS is backing down on it at all, so we're stuck with it for a while.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. tdf_xi

tdf_xi

Thanks for the input.

7. seamonkey

seamonkey

I'll eventually upgrade. Just waiting for SP1 and drivers myself. :D

8. chee666

chee666

Windows is bad man...

9. 4OnTheFloor

4OnTheFloor

Windows 8 is the worst thing Microsoft has ever come out with. Those of you reading that statement thinking those are words lacking wisdom, I assure you they are not.

10. JoeWPgh

JoeWPgh