1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. We are currently evaluating the "One Post Per Classified Ad" policy. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Wire a stacked blend pot for the pickups as well as a 3-way toggle

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by pertyman, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Is there a way to wire a stacked blend pot for the pickups as well as a 3-way toggle ?
    Does anyone has schematics ?
    Thanks...
  2. smperry

    smperry Moderator Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Likes Received:
    0
    moved to pickups and electronics
  3. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    What do you mean by "stacked" blend pot?

    You can wire and blend with a toggle switch. But are you looking to have the blend only work when the switch is in the center? Normally how the blend is set will be what you will get when you switch pickups with the switch, so if your blend is panned to the neck pickup and you switch to the bridge, you wont hear anything.

    There is probably a way of wiring this up however, but I can't think of any resources on line to point you to for the wiring diagram (i.e., I don't think one exists).
  4. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Someone asked for this setup before, so I've done a diagram.
    [​IMG]
  5. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    I figured if anyone had one it would be you! :D
  6. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
  8. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks line6man,
    That's a bummer!
    Do you have any idea what modification can i make with that kind of a switch?
    I realy do not want to replace it ...
    By the way, it's a Warwick Star Bass with master volume (push / pull for series / parallel), blend, and two tones knobs.
  9. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is nothing you can do with that switch that will be useful. If you put it before or after the blend pot, soloing one pickup while the blend is set toward the other pickup will reduce the output of the soloed pickup. Or in other words, the blend will function as a volume pot from the center detent to the opposite pickup's side of the rotation when a pickup is soloed.

    To do this properly, you need two poles and three throws. The commons will route the pickups to either the blend pot's inputs, the blend pot's output, or ground, depending on whether you want one or both.
  10. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you,

    I have two questions.
    1. If the switch is in the middle position, will the balance work as usual and vice versa ?
    2. If this is not possible, do you have any other idea to upgrade the bass by using this switch type ? Something like treble boost maybe or like the picture attached ?
    :help:

    Attached Files:

  11. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    Those switches don't work that way. The normal ones would have both caps connected until you switch it to either position, and then it disconnects one.

    The switch in that diagram is different from the ones used for pickups.
  12. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2

    You have the output and ground terminals mixed up.

Share This Page