1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

    We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Wire a stacked blend pot for the pickups as well as a 3-way toggle

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by pertyman, Nov 23, 2012.


  1. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Hi,
    Is there a way to wire a stacked blend pot for the pickups as well as a 3-way toggle ?
    Does anyone has schematics ?
    Thanks...
     
  2. smperry

    smperry Moderator Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    moved to pickups and electronics
     
  3. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    What do you mean by "stacked" blend pot?

    You can wire and blend with a toggle switch. But are you looking to have the blend only work when the switch is in the center? Normally how the blend is set will be what you will get when you switch pickups with the switch, so if your blend is panned to the neck pickup and you switch to the bridge, you wont hear anything.

    There is probably a way of wiring this up however, but I can't think of any resources on line to point you to for the wiring diagram (i.e., I don't think one exists).
     
  4. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    Someone asked for this setup before, so I've done a diagram.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    I figured if anyone had one it would be you! :D
     
  7. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
  8. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
  9. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Thanks line6man,
    That's a bummer!
    Do you have any idea what modification can i make with that kind of a switch?
    I realy do not want to replace it ...
    By the way, it's a Warwick Star Bass with master volume (push / pull for series / parallel), blend, and two tones knobs.
     
  10. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    There is nothing you can do with that switch that will be useful. If you put it before or after the blend pot, soloing one pickup while the blend is set toward the other pickup will reduce the output of the soloed pickup. Or in other words, the blend will function as a volume pot from the center detent to the opposite pickup's side of the rotation when a pickup is soloed.

    To do this properly, you need two poles and three throws. The commons will route the pickups to either the blend pot's inputs, the blend pot's output, or ground, depending on whether you want one or both.
     
  11. pertyman

    pertyman

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Thank you,

    I have two questions.
    1. If the switch is in the middle position, will the balance work as usual and vice versa ?
    2. If this is not possible, do you have any other idea to upgrade the bass by using this switch type ? Something like treble boost maybe or like the picture attached ?
    :help:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. SGD Lutherie

    SGD Lutherie Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Bloomfield, NJ
    Disclosures:
    Owner, SGD Music Products
    Those switches don't work that way. The normal ones would have both caps connected until you switch it to either position, and then it disconnects one.

    The switch in that diagram is different from the ones used for pickups.
     
  13. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA

    You have the output and ground terminals mixed up.
     

Share This Page