Wireless router suggestions

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by slobake, Feb 19, 2014.


  1. slobake

    slobake Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Franciscco, CA
    Dumping AT&T U-Verse and going with a local ISP called Monkebrains

    https://www.monkeybrains.net/

    High speed, $35 a month. Some of my neighbors have this service and they love them. Plus they are run by a bunch of crazy but nice youngsters. The only drawback is the $200 installation fee. I will make up for that when I drop my VOIP with AT&T for OOMA and with the cheaper monthly rates.

    I need a new router. Been looking at Netgear but a lot of people on Amazon say they die or start having problems after several months. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Unethical

    Unethical

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Knoxville, Maryland
    I have used both Netgear and Linksys routers, I have had more problems with the netgear units. It seems like I get about 3 years out of a Linksys unit which is just about its lifecycle any ways due to the ROHS compliant parts and solder that fails in 3-4 years of constant use.
     
  3. Duuuuuuuuuude

    Duuuuuuuuuude

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Get a Wireless N router. They're better than Wireless G
     
  4. Auzzie-Phoenix

    Auzzie-Phoenix

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    675
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Oddly enough it's always the Linksys routers that give me headaches. I've not had any problems with netgear. Belkin is absolute crap though.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. slobake

    slobake Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Franciscco, CA
    Thanks for the feedback.
     
  7. Technotitclan

    Technotitclan Lurking TB from work

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I've had a few Belkins and they have always worked great.
     
  8. Gorn Captain

    Gorn Captain Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,573
    Location:
    Queens
    I know very little about this, but I do know my Linksys router has been working for 7 years without a hiccup.
     
  9. Immigrant

    Immigrant

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    West of Stumptown, USA
    Apple Airport thing. They make one with a hard drive, but the cheaper model (without one) has a USB connection for an external hd if you ever care to use it for networking and file sharing.
     
  10. blastoff99

    blastoff99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    Ok, I'll hijack.

    I need a new wireless router, too, I think. Although I solved one problem (it was the MOST embarrassing thing ever; maybe I'll confess what an idiot I am, but you'll have to really beg), the slowness remains and my phone keeps dropping it because it says my connection is "unstable." The current router is a Cisco Valet Plus. I need something with good range (the house is very long) that will play nice with Comcast and my Motorola Surfboard modem.

    Thanks.
     
  11. kissmybASS01

    kissmybASS01

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    :eyebrow: I'm definitely no tech guru, but can someone explain how solder can fail with constant use? I can see with our bass equipment being transported all the time or from handling, but my Netgear router just sits on a shelf on my desk.
     
  12. Immigrant

    Immigrant

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    West of Stumptown, USA
    I have Comcast and Motorola Surfboard, with an Apple Airport Extreme. I live in a 65 foot long doublewide and I only lose the signal if I'm outside behind my garage. Pretty good range.
     
  13. slobake

    slobake Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Franciscco, CA
    Thanks Immigrant. I have been looking at the Airport. Is the extra cost worth it?
    Also I don't understand a lot of the technology involved on all brands not just Apple. For instance: Dual speed? Why do I need that? Would it be better for me to get a less expensive model from a good brand like Netgear or Lyksys without out all extra features? I also have a very small house so I don't need a lot of coverage.
    I need something that will support the 8-20 Mpps IPS service I am getting. And that will enable me to use my phone via Ooma, watch movies with Netflix and use our two computers maybe all at the same time. Am I asking for too much?
     
  14. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Terrific Twister Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    16,755
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Lacey, WA
    No, you aren't asking for too much. If you have a Costco nearby and you are a member, get the model they have for sale. Any of the consumer grade devices are going to work for you. I've never had a problem with a Netgear device, the Linksys ones have worked fine for me too.

    I'm not sure about 'dual speed', but you do often hear/see/read about 'dual band'. 'Dual band" gives you capability to transmit on the 5 GHz band and also the 2.4 GHz band.

    -Mike
     
  15. blastoff99

    blastoff99

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    435

    Does it matter if this would be the only Apple device in my house? Wouldn't it get lonely? Maybe fights would start.
     
  16. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14,157
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    I upgraded to the ASUS RT-N66U wireless router about a year ago in order to get more range and reliability than my old Netgear. I've been quite happy with it. My router is at the far end of the (3400 sq ft) house from where I use it - and after trying four (Linksys and Netgear) wireless routers which gvae me problems and lacked range, this one is stable and has the range to connect anywhere in the house, basement, garage and upstairs included. It also has consistently provided good response speed, so I'm pleased. Works at both 2.4 and 5 GHZ. Supports Netflix streaming.

    http://www.amazon.com/RT-N66U-Dual-...gabit-Router/dp/B006QB1RPY/ref=cm_cr-mr-title
     
  17. slobake

    slobake Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    San Franciscco, CA
    Thanks Mike. My bad, I meant to say "dual band." :oops: Why would I need to transmit on two bands?
     
  18. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Terrific Twister Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    16,755
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Lacey, WA
    Lot's of reasons, but in your situation, you probably don't need to.

    A situation where maybe you wanted a dual band could be this: You have some wireless devices with older wireless network cards that can't use the newer faster wireless speeds. Being able to move those devices to the slower 2.4 GHz band would allow you to segregate that traffic and keep the newer devices running at the higher speeds 5GHz offers.

    -Mike
     
  19. MJ5150

    MJ5150 Terrific Twister Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    16,755
    Media:
    13
    Albums:
    1
    Location:
    Lacey, WA
  20. Pilgrim

    Pilgrim Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    14,157
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Interesting. I will review the article for more detail, but I note this: "The June 22 report found the 'ability to traverse to any external storage plugged in through the USB ports on the back of the router...'"

    I don't have - and never have had - anything plugged into the USB port on back of the router, so there may be no issue. I think many of the users connect a storage hard drive to the USB port on the router - I don't do that.

    But I'll update firmware and check things this evening, and I'll follow through on the fixes they suggest.

    Thanks for the heads-up, Mike...very kind of you! I still like the router A LOT...and I'd buy it all over again.
     
  21. fisticuffs

    fisticuffs

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Disclosures:
    Product Specialist for Musical Instruments, Full Compass Systems
    Apple Airport Extreme is rock solid. Never heard of one failing. I ended up buying a Time Capsule as well 3 years after I got the Airport. I use the Airport as an extender, and have a second hard drive plugged into the Time Capsule, redundant backup... amazing WiFi coverage.
     

Share This Page