wiring 6x10 problem power

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by maajanss, Nov 26, 2012.


  1. maajanss

    maajanss

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    I'm building a 6x10 cabinet at the moment for a customer (it's the first 6x10 I've ever built) and I'm not sure how I have to wire it.
    I want to use Eminence Legend BP102 for it. My customer has an Ampeg B2RE (so it has a solid state power amp).
    I've searched a lot on the internet and I've found 2 possible wiring diagrams.


    - The first one is the following: 4 - 4 ohm speakers in series (16 ohms) then wired in parallel with 2 - 8 ohm speakers in series (16 ohms) = 8 ohm load
    But if I do it this way, will every speaker have the same power or will the 2 8ohm speakers sound louder than the 4 4ohm speakers?

    - The second diagram I've found is: 2 sets of 3 8ohm speakers in parallel, with those 2 sets in series = 5,34 ohm load


    Which one of these 2 options will be the best?

    Thanks a lot
     
  2. Bass_Pounder

    Bass_Pounder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Location:
    Palm Coast, Florida
    Matching impedance all around.

    Never mix speakers of different impedance in the same cab.
     
  3. Crater

    Crater

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Yeah, there's no way to wire up a 6-driver cab with "normal" drivers and have the impedance work out to 4, 8 or 16 ohms. I'd do the series-parallel wiring so each driver gets the same amount of power. I think the original 6-speaker cabs used custom 6 ohm drivers to get the overall impedance close to the standard 4/8/16 ohms. 5.3 ohms is close enough on a solid-state amp, it will work fine.
     
  4. maajanss

    maajanss

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Thanks for the help ;)

    And if I would use a Hartke HA3500 on a cab of 5,34 ohms, is that safe? Cause it has a tube preamp?

    And yep, ampeg uses 6 ohm speakers in their 6x10 cabs, but they're a lot more expensive then the Eminence BP102.
    So I'll use 6 Eminence BP102 of 8 ohm to make the cab 5,3 4ohms in total.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bass_Pounder

    Bass_Pounder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Location:
    Palm Coast, Florida
    Tube or no tube in the pre - does not matter.

    Solid State output only cares if you go BELOW the minimum ohm rating.

    Totally safe with that amp.
     
  7. maajanss

    maajanss

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    And what will be the total wattage of the cab if I use 6 8 ohm speakers (200W each)? So when I wire 2 sets of 3 8ohm speakers in parallel, with those 2 sets in series?
     
  8. nicoli

    nicoli

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Location:
    Rockland, Ontario, Canada
    The HA3500 can safely operate down to 4 ohms so yes it'll be fine... as far as I know a tube preamp makes no difference to what impedance the power section can handle.
     
  9. maajanss

    maajanss

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Thanks a lot. Do you have any Idea what the total wattage of the cab will be if I use 6 8 ohm speakers (200W each)? So when I wire 2 sets of 3 8ohm speakers in parallel, with those 2 sets in series?
     
  10. David Jayne

    David Jayne

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Location:
    Brookfield, CT
    Bearing in mind that the 'wattage' number of 200 is the thermal rating and has little relevance to real-world use, figure half the thermal rating- 600 watts.
     
  11. maajanss

    maajanss

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    So the RMS power handling of this cab will be 600 watts?
     

Share This Page