Wiring a Bass Mods Pre active/passive? Help please!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by autodidact, Dec 6, 2012.


  1. autodidact

    autodidact

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Alright so here's the deal.

    I'm looking at picking up a Bass Mods BEQ-2 2 band pre from a fellow TB'r. I want the preamp for the ability to boost my low end a little but I also really like the passive tone of the bass I'm putting the pre in.

    Is there a way to wire up the pre-amp with a bypass switch so that I can choose whether or not I want it to be engaged when I play. I've attached a pic of it for reference.

    Also, I'm putting it in a Squier CV Precision that I've outfitted with a Fender '62 p'up, would it be possible to hook the '62 up to the Bass Mods pre or do I have to look at other pickups? Ignore the pickups in the pic, they just come with the pre :D

    :help: Please help, I figured you guys would probably know best!
     

    Attached Files:

    • pre.jpg
      pre.jpg
      File size:
      128.7 KB
      Views:
      33
  2. autodidact

    autodidact

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Somebody's gotta know something !
     
  3. Andyman001

    Andyman001 Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    According to the ebay store that sells these, it is for passive pu's, so yours should work.

    also you should be able to add a toggle switch to switch from active to passive.
     
  4. autodidact

    autodidact

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Any idea where I might find a wiring schematic for that?
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,593
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    [​IMG]

    Make sure the volume pot is before the preamp, and of the appropriate value for the signal impedance.
     
  7. autodidact

    autodidact

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Is there a way I could keep the passive tone control too? I know it sounds like I'm being a pain but I'm kind of a novice at the whole wiring thing
     
  8. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,593
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    Sure. Keep it before the preamp input.
     
  9. autodidact

    autodidact

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    Awesome thanks a lot man
     

Share This Page