Working out the root notes from sheet music

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by matt120282, Jan 3, 2013.

1. matt120282

matt120282

Hi all

I am new to this forum and new to playing bass too. I've been playing the drums for about 2 years and decided I'd like to branch out.

So I tend to play root notes to songs at the moment, preferring this to learning bass tabs off by heart as I can pick up and play a song pretty quickly this way (to a basic standard).

My problem comes when the sheet music has an instruction for a capo to be put on, say, the second fret.

If the sheet music then has a B chord, and I play a B (say 2nd fret of A string) it doesn't sound like the right note. So I guess this is because a guitar player would have the capo and this would change things.

What I need to understand is how to transpose the chords that are written to the notes I need to play bearing in mind I don't have the capo.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks
    Matt
  2. john m

john m Supporting Member

1/2 step apart from the fret next to it.

If a capo is on the 1st fret, you need to transpose up 1/2 step. C becomes C#, F becomes F#, etc.

If capo is on the 3rd fret, transposition interval is 3, half steps or 1 and 1/2 steps. C becomes Eb (or D#) etc.
  3. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Ah, one of the silly guitar player antics ;)

It's not that hard when you're accustomed to it. In the case of the B, you play a C#, the note two half steps up from the B. That's all there is to it, if you see a chord, add the number of the capo'd fret to it and voila, B + 2 half steps =C#. If you see an E, play F# and so on.

I don't quite understand why they do it that way though. Sometimes throws me off when playing guitar as well!
  4. 96tbird

96tbird This Indian movie is really boring man. Supporting Member

Simply, slide your note up the same number of frets as the capo is from the nut. Simple math: 2=2 etc.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. obimark

obimark