1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Wounded Acoustic 370

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by joecracker, Apr 14, 2014.

1. joecracker

joecracker

Hello. Newby alert! in more ways than one.
    I have come to own an Acoustic 370 Bass amp paired with a EV B215-M Speaker Cab. When being played thru it sounds badly distorted. It also breaks up and fades out when doing a slide. The cab sounds fine under anther amp.

I live in Flint MI. and have been told by many of my musician buds that their is nobody around here that they would recommend to work on it. I think I'm going to poke at it a little bit myself. I've done a bunch of research and youtube watching but they all seem to be in Greek.

I'm just a lowly drummer and know very little about the bass guitar. I've done a little bit of wiring on radios, TVs and guitars but not something this complex. I have a soldering gun and schematic. I also have a multi meter but need to learn how to use it. I would really appreciate any help. Is there "Bass amp repair for dummies"?

Tim

2. Rickenbackerman

Rickenbackerman

Man, sounds like you're in a bit of hitch here...

If you think a 370 is complicated you might want to think about shipping it to a tech if there aren't any good ones local. A 370 is actually a pretty dang simple amp, since it's cap coupled. Honestly, it sounds to me like you're in over your head. I don't want to say don't "dive in", but you'll need much more than a meter to fix it. Meter, scope, signal generator and dummy load at the minimum.