Writing bass lines/riffs

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Pills Are Yummy, Dec 6, 2012.

1. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy

I can't seem to come up with any inventive bass lines or riffs, any suggestions? I work on stuff at home, but whenever I write, it either sounds copied or it just straight up sounds like crap :meh:. At practice, we really only have enough time to go through our set, and I rarely have time to work on anything other than following my guitarist and maybe throwing in a few simple fills. Help me please? Perhaps toss a few good books my way?

Thank you,
    AC
  2. ChrisHooker

ChrisHooker

With limited group practice time, I'd highly suggest recording your practices. This way you can still work at home on your own.

I'm not good at all at improv - translating what my head thinks to the fingerboard in real-time, so the way I usually write lines is to listen to the beat/groove and chords/notes/any other riffs going on and try to hum what I think would work well as a bass line. Then I figure out how to play that.
  3. ChrisHooker

ChrisHooker

Also, I'll add that sometimes if you can't think of anything that works along with a pre-written gtr part... it might be that the gtr part doesn't leave any space for you.

If you can't get the guitarist to change, try muting him out and replace his line with simple chord changes while you write your bass line. Then bring him back in and see how it works together.

..Or maybe the groove/vibe isn't there, and you need to rework the whole rhythm section so it's not so straight forward and hokey.
  4. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy

Improv (which I know is important) isn't really one of my priorities as I am in a metal band. I'm decent-good when it comes to writing supporting lines under my guitarist. What I mean is more of a riff, something I can show to my guitarist that HE can play...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy